Happy Birthday, Blog – 5 years today!

Gosh time certainly does fly when you’re having fun! Five years already? Really?

A huge Thank you to all my loyal followers who’ve stuck with me all this time….without you there would be no blog! So to celebrate, please help yourself to a lovely slice of cake:

IMG_4818

Alas I can only look because for three weeks now I’ve managed to stick religiously to my diet and the excess kilos are (finally) beginning to shed! Upping my exercise considerably has really helped, though the brisk afternoon walks through the park (in the snow!)

photo-12

have kept me from the computer – hence the lack of new posts –  but keeping busy is really the best diet of all –  and I’ve been doing plenty of that!

As you’ve probably guessed I’m still in London and although Skiathos seems such a long way away right now, I know it won’t be long before I start pining for the island and all my lovely friends there….the afternoon walks with Percy on the long empty beaches…..the fresh smell of spring in the air as the first flowers appear in the olive groves…..and, more than anything (apart from the food, the fresh fish, the slow pace of life….gosh the list could go on and on!) the gentle sea breeze and clear blue skies!

For now though, it’s the city life for me and I’m making the most of it. I’m LOVING my sculpture course at Kensington &  Chelsea College! I couldn’t have asked for a more lovely, friendly and talented group of fellow artists:

IMG_0611
IMG_0612 IMG_0613 IMG_0614 IMG_0615 IMG_0617

or a more patient and totally inspiring tutor, than Tim:

IMG_0622

Each week I look forward to my early morning trek across the Park to continue with my latest project – a full size bust – and it’s coming along nicely:

IMG_0608

As a bonus this week I was invited to lunch within the hallowed halls of the Chelsea Arts Club which more than lived up to its wonderful reputation:

IMG_0627There’s something quite surreal about tucking into a steaming bowl of curried courgette soup with an original Barry Flanagan, a “Hare”bronze sculpture, at one’s elbow!

images

There have been more exciting exhibitions to visit too: ‘The Hollywood Costume’ was beautifully curated and particularly memorable. Among the many iconic treasures on display were:

Scan 1 Judy Garland’s (‘Dorothy’) ‘Wizard of Oz’ Ruby Slippers

Scan 2Cate Blanchett’s ‘Elizabeth’ costume

Scanand Charlie Chaplin’s famous Tramp outfit

I also visited  the ‘Light of the Middle East’ Photography Exhibition which showcased over 90 deeply profound and thought-provoking works, by 30 artists from 13 different countries each  addressing political and social conflicts throughout the region:

Scan 3

Both were showing at the V & A (although the ‘Hollywood Costume’ has now closed):

IMG_0494

I always wonder why I don’t spend more time in this fabulous museum which is practically on my doorstep – and where the tea rooms alone are worth a visit!:

IMG_0496

IMG_0497

It’s hard to imagine more opulent surroundings!

This weekend I’ve a trip to the new Manet exhibition at the RA to look forward to as well as a very special treat: the opening night of the ENO’s new production of ‘La Traviata’ at the Coliseum and, come Sunday, a jaunt out to the country. Now that most of the snow has gone, I’m really keen to get out and about and get back to nature. Yes, time for a few long walks in the rolling hills and ancient forests, I think….

But more on those in my next post……

For now, keep warm everyone – it’s nearly the end of January and spring is on its way!

 

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Blog – 5 years today!

  1. Thank you for the cake… rather good!….. I am sure that Skiathos, Percy and Villa Nicara are missing you too!………. Make the most of your available culture, I’m sure you’ll miss that too later in the year……….;)
    Congratulations on your blog’s anniversary!….:)

Comments are closed.